In Nevada, certain offenses are regarded as more severe than others. The classification of the specific crime of which you've been charged might have a significant impact on the ultimate punishment you may receive. Under Nevada Revised Statutes 193.120, offenses are classified as misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies. Felony charges in Nevada are split into 5 classifications, ranging from E, which is the least, to A, which is the most severe crime.
Classification of Crimes in Nevada
The list below is not meant to be comprehensive, but rather to demonstrate how crimes are classified according to the seriousness of the sentence. Every charge has its penalties, and the penalties may be handed down simultaneously or consecutively, depending on the judge's authority or, in certain situations, as required by law. Crimes in the State of Nevada are classified as:
Misdemeanors are defined by Nevada Revised Statutes 193.120 as an offense punishable by at least six months in county jail. Misdemeanors are much less severe than felony crimes, perhaps since the degree of malice required is lesser or since the consequences are less severe. Judges seldom sentence a first-time criminal to jail time. Misdemeanors in Nevada can include the following:
- Causing a disturbance
- Simple battery
- Urinating in public
- Minor larceny (stealing goods valued under $1,200)
- DUI for the 1st or 2nd time without significant injuries
Misdemeanor charges can result in up to 6 months in county jail, as well as fines of $1,000 and victim compensation, where applicable. It could be feasible to convince the prosecution to drop a misdemeanor allegation in some situations, particularly if the accused has a clean record.
Persons who are accused of misdemeanor charges in Nevada must normally wait 1 year once the matter is closed before requesting a record closure. Certain misdemeanors, however, have greater waiting periods. DUI charges and domestic violence charges, for example, have a seven-year waiting period. The below 4 misdemeanors have a two-year waiting period:
- A simple battery
- Breaching of a restraining order
Gross misdemeanors are crimes that carry a possible sentence of 364 days in county jail, according to Nevada Revised Statutes 193.120. First crimes of public or extreme lewd behavior, as well as public indecency, are typical Nevada gross misdemeanor crimes.
Gross misdemeanors can result in fines of $2,000 and victim compensation where applicable. Offenders with clean records might be capable of negotiating a plea bargain in which the charge is dropped or lowered to a misdemeanor. When a defendant is guilty of a gross misdemeanor in the State of Nevada, they must wait two years once the matter is closed before requesting that their record be sealed.
Felonies are crimes that carry a minimum term of one year in the State Prison of Nevada, according to Nevada Revised Statutes 193.120. Felonies are regarded as the most severe offenses. Because the Fifth Amendment prohibits foreseeable deprivation of human life or liberties with no legality, it, therefore, comes as no shock that these offenses bear the worst penalties.
They are usually motivated by a malicious motive, like the desire to kill, or they are backed by a tragic consequence, including death, substantial damage, or property devastation. Because felony crimes are the most serious, they're severely punished. There are 5 types of felonies: A, B, C, D, and E. Plea bargaining felony convictions down to minor offenses, misdemeanors, or even dismissals could be achievable.
Felonies in Category A
Rape, murder, and first-degree kidnapping are examples of Category A offenses. If the exacerbating factors surpass the mitigating factors in a murder charge, the death sentence may be imposed. If charged with a category A felony, you face the penalty of life behind bars without any chance of parole. Offenders in Category A crimes often have to wait ten years once the matter is settled before requesting that their records be sealed.
Felonies in Category B
Robberies and home invasions are examples of Category B offenses. The following are the penalties:
- 1 to 20 years behind bars
- According to the crime, a fine may be imposed
Offenders who are charged with Category B crimes must normally wait five years once the case is closed before requesting that their records be sealed.
Felonies in Category C
Violations of a restraining order as well as stealing property valued between $5,000 to $25,000 are examples of Category C offenses. The following are the penalties:
- 1 to 5 years behind bars
- Fines of $10,000
Defendants who are charged with Category C offenses must normally wait 5 years once the case is closed before requesting that their record be sealed.
Felonies in Category D
Counterfeiting and not repaying casino markers are examples of Category D offenses. The following are the penalties:
- A sentence ranging from 1 to 4 years of imprisonment
- Fines of $5,000
Offenders in Category D crimes often have to wait five years once the case is closed before requesting that their record be sealed.
Felonies in Category E
Having over one ounce of marijuana for the first or second time falls under Category E felonies. Probation is usually the most common punishment. However, the potential sentence is as follows:
- A sentence ranging from 1 to six years of imprisonment
- Fines of $5,000
Offenders in Category E crimes often have to wait two years once the case is closed before requesting that their record be sealed.
Find Bail Bonds Services Near Me
If you are facing criminal charges, you dont have to spend another day in jail. Bail bond services are here for you. Express Bail Bonds is the agency to call if you are seeking a bail bond in Las Vegas, Nevada. If you have been detained we could help you get out of jail as soon as possible. Our representatives are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to assist and help you in making bail. If you have any concerns about our bail bonds or if you wish to be freed from police custody following your detention, call us at 702-633-2245 today.